+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: NOS verses Oversampling ? Choosing a Dac

Default NOS verses Oversampling ? Choosing a Dac

Gidday all after introducing my self I now wish to post my first question to you guys! I need to make a choice about purchacing my first dac to play PC based music. My budget is about $400 Australian. After much research i have come down to 2 choices in NOS

Both NOS Dacs, which are known for there analogue type easy listening tones, use the Philips TDA1543 Dac chips( 8 chips in parrallel). They do not utilize opamps.

Valab NOS DAC (2009 Version)

Gigalab NOS USB DAC TDA1543 1ppm TCXO +Re-clock Circuit

Beresford 7520 built by Stan is my choice for a Oversampling DAC after reading excelent reviews on this forum and others.

I have no experience with DACS so any advice on these Dacs or opinions on NOS verses Oversampling would be much appreciated.
    Don

Location: A Strangely Isolated Place in Suffolk with Far Away Trains Passing By...

I'm David.

Greetings!

I don't know the two DAC's you mention and can only speak from positive reviews here and elsewhere on the Beresford. So why bother posting? Well, all I can say is that the more complex you make something, the more room for errors IMO.

The other point I'd like to make is that DAC chips these days aren't very expensive and, if implemented well, don't perform too differently IMO, many Top End designers adding a flavour to suit their tastes (and very expensive casework too).

I suppose my recommendation would be for the Beresford. Try this for a while and then try the others to see what you think.

I'd be interesting to read what others have to say...
    Tear down these walls; Cut the ties that held me
    Crying out at the top of my voice; Tell me now if you can hear me

Quote Originally Posted by don View Post
    My budget is about $400 Australian.
    At AUD265 odd for the TC-7520 AoS Export, that leaves you quite a bit of beer change.

I'm Neal.