+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings from Colorado

Cool Greetings from Colorado

My name is Terry, I am one of those Americans aged enough to be going through the obligatory mid-life crises, which requires I evaluate my present established, fragile ego controlled, thought process. This evaluation has made me realize that, though I may be experienced at many subjects, I am not an expert at any of them. I am no longer the closed minded, brand loyal consumerist I was ten years ago and I recognize I can still learn from the mental generosity of others.

As a forum lurker for the many monetary fund sucking hobbies I presently enjoy, I have finally decided to actively join this particular forum (a first for me) based on the high quality information exchange I have observed and the general maturity level associated with the members and administrators.

My love of vinyl and music in general has always been an important part of my life since I bought my first Beach Boys album back in the 60’s. My favorite genre of music is any rock music from the 60’s, 70’s, & 80’s (Doors, Stones, Beatles, Byrds, Pink Floyd, Alan Parsons, etc.) to present (Depeche Mode, Green Day, Kings of Leon, etc.).

My current primary equipment kit is Home Theater based and having pursued this digital monster to it’s present day incarnation, I wish to pursue having fun with the analog world again (hence my presence here).

I recently replaced an old Garrard Zero 100 with a Technics SL-1200 MKII. I bought this TT specifically as a project. I have been following Marco’s adventure with modifying his Techy with great interest and between his work and Dave Cawley’s contribution; I feel that I do not have to reinvent the wheel to get the most out of this TT.