+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello from Reading area

I'm Richard.

Default Hello from Reading area

Hello all

Just joined after looking around for a decent hifi forum for a while and stumbled upon AoS. I'm a relative newbie having only been into hifi for about 12 years. I bought a basic turntable to hook up to a crappy music system sometime around 1998 as I had bought a few records on vinyl and my dad had a few vinyls in the loft I thought might be worth a listen.

When the music system broke I bought a NAD amp to replace it and hooked it up to the music system's old speakers (can't remember what make the music system was but I think maybe Aiwa or something). I couldn't believe the additional detail that came through those old basic speakers and was hooked. Shortly after I bought some wharfedale 8.4 floorstanders which again was a step change and loved it. I started experimenting with different budget and second hand kit for a few years.

I got into bedroom DJing about ten years ago and ran a pair of 1210s through a cambridge audio A50 amp and old wharfedale Programme 20 speakers that came out of an old pub! Even this modest kit sounded good from the 1210s.

I could never quite get a sound I liked from the Wharefdale's 8.4s until I eventually bought a Roksan caspian M1 integrated which I love the sound of and can make pretty much any speaker sound good.

Those 8.4s have long gone and I have now built my system around the Roksan caspian M1 and ended up with: Quad 11L speakers, bi-wired with QED original biwire cable, on Apollo AZ stands, sand filled; NAD C541i HDCD; Project debut 2 TT; project phono box; Denon TU260LII tuner, connected to digital TV aerial in loft (not used for tv), on a Soundstyle 5 tier rack. Varous interconnects from Cable talk and QED.