+ Reply to Thread

Thread: upgrade route for TC-7520SE Caiman

I'm Graeme.

Default upgrade route for TC-7520SE Caiman

Hi

I have the TC-7520SE Caiman, no upgrades, I bought this last year from StanB.

I am looking at upgrading this cracker of a DAC (not buy a new unit).. so anyone know what I can do to this? bearing in mind I am not an electrical engineer

ta
    I can whistle with my fingers, especially if I have a whistle.

I'm Rich.

Going off the last time I heard it I personally wouldn't do anything with it and perhaps try adding a V-Link or hi-face into the equation instead. It seemed quite happy with my V-link II if I recall. I was initially skeptical about converters but it took my laptop audio to the next level.
    One of these days... I'm going to cut you into little pieces.

I'm Graeme.

Quote Originally Posted by RichB View Post
    Going off the last time I heard it I personally wouldn't do anything with it and perhaps try adding a V-Link or hi-face into the equation instead. It seemed quite happy with my V-link II if I recall. I was initially skeptical about converters but it took my laptop audio to the next level.
    I will speak to you about this tomorrow

I'm Gary.

Can always go for the Gator board Graham if its not in there already.
    Swapping out the opamps can make a worthwhile improvement too.

Can recommend a few if you want to go down that road.
    Lists of threads on here from a while back with recommended mods for your StanDac.

I'm Steven.

Go for the Gator upgrade, I believe Stan has a new batch due to the current revival of the Caiman. An absolute no-brainer and can be apllied by anyone that owns a screwdriver.

In addition try a linear Mark Grant psu and/or the cheap S/Booster. You can find its reviews in this forum.
    Yamaha - Pioneer - Bluesound - Squeezebox - Beresford - Chario - MJ Acoustics - iBasso