+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: linux as the o/s in 2013

I'm jonny.

Default linux as the o/s in 2013

to all those linux users, what is the current state of play regarding the best distro? i have been reading about it as a platform on this site but things move on rapidly in computing. currently i use windows but would like to see if linux is better and less hassle - i can't get kernal streaming to work with my new usb/spdif converter when i could get it to work with my previous soundcard.

for me the best would also mean most convenient too ie plug and play if poss. i use cplay and spent a bit of time optimising windows for this but i have zero experience of linux except for a little play with ubuntu1.5 years ago and don't want to ponce about with it if i can avoid it.

I'm Richard.

Take a look at this thread on head-fi.

http://www.head-fi.org/t/561961/bit-...dio-from-linux

As for the best distro to use, you will get a lot of different answers depending on people's preferences, but have a look at the latest from Linux Mint. I am happily using it with the cinnamon desktop and being Ubuntu based, I find it runs a lot faster than Unity on Ubuntu and you get the added bonus of the Ubuntu software repo's.

I'm jonny.

weirdly, after i posted my original question i went into foobar and to cut a long boring story short, k s was working despite untold unsuccessful previous efforts and me not actually doing anything at all. still quite fancy linux though.

had a look at the head fi thread and that is quite old...

I'm Richard.

It is an old thread, but still relevant. I myself have used Deadbeef and it makes a fine player.

synsei Guest