View Poll Results: Can cable dressing and using well-designed supports make a notable difference?

Voters
25. You may not vote on this poll
  • According to my experience it brings notable benefits at least in some areas

17 68.00%
  • According to my experience to date there are no significant benefits.

2 8.00%
  • It's all foo and I'm just not going to go there!

1 4.00%
  • I have no experience of this but I'm open-minded and willing to experiment.

5 20.00%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Addressing the issue of microphony

Default Addressing the issue of microphony

I'd like to find out the general opinion of forum members on this. Do you believe there is anything to be gained from addressing microphony issues, i.e. attempting to reduce vibrations entering your kit?

I'm looking for some truly candid responses here both in the poll and any further commentary.

I'm Nick.

I have no experience of this but I'm open-minded and willing to experiment.
    I feel that my system has a long way to go before the affects of microphony, supports and cables are likely to have an audible affect. But once sources, amplification and speakers are sorted to a certain level microphony, supports and cables are going to have a more perceptible affect on the end result... and that's when tweaking and experimenting with them is likely to pay dividends.

I'd be interested in whether advocates of supports and cable dressings feel that the affects of good practice in this area will have an affect regardless of the resolution of the other system building blocks...
    Nick
    My system...

Follow AOS on Twitter: @AoS_Forum

I'm ILOB.

ahh depends!!!