PDA

View Full Version : VHSC archive future-proofing

MyIdenTT
06-02-2011, 21:40
I am very new to all this, so please forgive me if this post is not quite in the right place.

I would be very glad of help answering some questions concerning the transfer of content from VHSC tapes to digital media.
Using an adapter (to VHS) I can use a VCR to play the tapes and record direct onto disc using a Cambridge Audio machine (highest quality setting produces an mpeg2 file of approximately 4.7Gb per hour of tape).
Would I gain any significant quality by playing the tapes on the camera they were filmed with?
I'm sure the results using this method should be 'acceptable', but, with an eye on the future, would it be a good idea to keep uncompressed digital versions of these tapes? - future software may be able to renovate my precious family images to a much higher standard than is currently available, and it would be good to have retained a version that could take advantage of this. The files would, I realise, be huge, but I am prepared to invest in an external hard drive for this purpose if necessary, or split the content into segments that could be stored on DVD and stitched together after renovation.
..any suggestions gratefully received.

Reid Malenfant
12-02-2011, 18:58
Ooops, just spotted this :doh:

I'm not 100% sure this will be much help but it might :)

I have quite a few SVHS recordings on SVHS tapes obviously & some of them i have transfered to DVD which is MPEG2 encode. What i did was play the tape & i recorded direct to a HDD in my DVD recorder that i no longer use as it happens :eyebrows: The quality most certainly will not suffer. If anything i'd advise you to transfer them as soon as possible to DVDRs or DVDRWs.

SVHS yields 400 lines to standard VHS at 250 lines where as DVD can manage 576 lines so i think you can see that if i stuffed 400 lines on a DVD you'll in no way suffer putting only 250 lines on there.