PDA

View Full Version : track separation on a 1974 audio cassette

MyIdenTT
06-02-2011, 21:28
I am very new to all this, so please forgive me if this post is not quite in the right place.

I would be glad of some advice concerning the separation of tracks on a home-recorded audio cassette that dates back to about 1974. I have been able to play most of the contents into Audacity in order to produce a digital version, but there is one segment which plays two dissociated recordings at double-speed, one of these in reverse.
I can deal with the speed and direction by setting Audacity to play at 50% speed, but I have had no success with separating the tracks. I have tried playing on a stereo machine and muting one channel. My sony tape player is an auto-reverse machine. I gather that playing with the azimuth adjustment on these machines is not advisable, so I dug out an old WM FX141 Walkman. Despite taking the adjustment to its extreme in both directions, I was unable to usefully separate the tracks. Am I dealing with one track recorded over another? Does the unusual speed give any clues as to what sort of machine this was recorded on?
The content is only speech....youngsters at play...so quality is not paramount, but I would like be able to preserve it digitally...any suggestions gratefully received.

Rare Bird
07-02-2011, 00:04
is it an home recorded tape! if so your probably hearing what was on the tape before you taped over with what you have now, does this sound right? theres a proper way to wipe a tape for second use & it's not taping over the original programme.

The symptoms of bleed through is a problem. this can be worsened by thinner tapes.

Beechwoods
07-02-2011, 07:47
Incomplete erasure of the previous recording is definite possibility, and if that's the case you're pretty stuck as far as 'removing' the 'background' recording.