PDA

View Full Version : Caiman -- three weeks of burn-in

magiccarpetride
25-05-2010, 17:00
I am a software developer by profession, so I like the divide-and-conquer approach (good for taming complexities). Hence, I'm chopping the discussion into separate threads, which seems to confuse some inmates here. Apologies, I just prefer to have things neatly compartmentalized.

In today's installation, I'm offering some observations and comments on a never ending saga with the Caiman burn-in (this may come in handy for some future Caiman-heads, while they're impatiently waiting to hear this DAC's full potential).

So, after three weeks of constant burn-in, the DAC continues to improve:) This morning, it presented the music material with full authority, balls-to-the-wall and all, but also with gentle tenderness and delicacy. How can that be? Dunno, but that's how I felt it while listening to Stevie Wonder's "Blame it on the Sun". Also, Blood Sweat and Tears rip through "Hi-De-Ho" with such aplomb, that it left me absolutely speechless. The soaring choir and the mock-muffled brass, with swampy mouth harmonica on top, never sounded this much in focus, sharp and at the same time emotionally engaging, fully musical.

I also feel that the bass is becoming more airy. Not as hard as it sounded last week. Not sure if I prefer that, but just goes to show you how this DAC keeps changing constantly. I just keep it running, and wonder in awe at what it's capable of, with the passage of time. One thing is for sure: with burn-in, I'm progressively hearing more and more previously undetected details, especially the quieter ones.

I just feel at this point that I really, really need to get me a top-shelf mighty power amp, something that will take the juice that oozes from the Caiman and push it to the Maggies without losing control.