PDA

View Full Version : Cheap as chips headphone amp

ReggieB
14-05-2010, 18:28
Has anyone else tried one of the cheap Bravo Audio headphone amps being sold on ebay? I'm a programmer and like to be able to shut myself off from any distractions at work. I bought myself some Goldring headphones, but wanted to try and improve the output from my computer's sound card. So I put a small bid in for one of the Bravo amps and bagged it.

Well it may not be the height of audiophile heaven, but it significantly improved the sound coming from my computer. For around thirty pounds, I think its a great buy. Probably not the thing for your main headphone listening, but great for occasional use, or where you don't want to spend much.

DSJR
14-05-2010, 19:03
Great fun :)

Rare Bird
14-05-2010, 19:47
I use the cheap Maverick Audio 'D1' DAC for all my headphone listerning it sound fantastic. I use very low impedance headphones which caused an hum problem at first as the unit was intended for higher impedance phones, i did change a couple resistors values to get shut of the problem, although it's obviously taken away a bit of volume it now works a treat , well loud enough for me all the same..Untill this breaks down i'll never swap it.

ReggieB
14-05-2010, 22:04
One of these:

http://www.mavaudio.com/base/product/tube_magic_d1/hardware/

Interesting!

Rare Bird
14-05-2010, 22:20
Aye

Themis
30-05-2010, 07:13
Has anyone else tried one of the cheap Bravo Audio headphone amps being sold on ebay? I'm a programmer and like to be able to shut myself off from any distractions at work. I bought myself some Goldring headphones, but wanted to try and improve the output from my computer's sound card. So I put a small bid in for one of the Bravo amps and bagged it.