PDA

View Full Version : SL1210 - Nearly there.....

Griffster
10-12-2009, 20:57
Hi all,

i've not really posted yet, other than in the welcome forum. However, I have been avidly reading your discussions, especially SL1200/1210 related (thanks Marco, Dave and others, you're an inspiration). I'm not new to Hi-Fi, but I am new to Vinyl. When I were a lad, them wonderful CD's had just arrived on the scene promising all sorts, so I bypassed Vinyl altogether and grew up with digital. Shame on me! :doh:
Anyway, in a desperate attempt to redress the balance I've finally gone and bought an SL1210, actually two because a friend was flogging his and they came as a pair. So I've been busily collecting bits and bobs, you know, Sumiko headshell, cleaning brush, cartridge setup protractor etc. I've got a Denon DL103 cartridge and tracking force gauge I'm picking up from a mate tomorrow. Some cardas tonearm cable arrived yesterday, so I'll be busy rewiring the tonearm in the next few days. I got a couple of hockey pucks, one of which I've drilled, ready to try out as a record clamp/weight.

I just need a mat - I can't decide which is the best option here, some new phono cables and a shelf to sit everything on. Oh, and a pipe cleaner to shove up my tonearm tube!
Looking ahead, I can see myself getting one of Dave's Timestep PSU's. I might also try turning a brass counterweight too. the Technics arm will have to stay for the moment, although I realise that a better arm will result in a big improvement.

I'm hoping that the DL-103 will work OK with my Quad 99 Pre, but I have doubts. Of course, it could all be a crashing let down and end in tears :rolleyes: but hopefully not, eh?

It's all so jolly exciting and I just wanted to share it with you. :cool:

mercury1 (trolling as Dave K)
10-12-2009, 21:08
Regarding the mat, try: -

http://herbiesaudiolab.home.att.net/ttmat.htm

but make sure that you choose the correct one specifically for the 1210