PDA

View Full Version : 401 Kokomo bearing

Floyddroid
12-04-2016, 21:34
As with other elderly Garrard turntables i have been experiencing speed instability. A visit from my mate Dougie turned out to be a blessing. Dougie himself is now onto his third 401 and makes gorgeous plinths for them and a trusted fettler of said devise. He suggested to me that i order a Kokomo bearing from Germany as he had fitted one to his and he loved it. Hopefully this will sort out the speed stability problem. On inspection the bearing presently in situ was bone dry which can't be helping the situation.
Dougie braved a hernia and picked up my monster 401 this evening and taken it to his gaff for surgery. I will update yawl when Gigantor comes home. For now i will dust the cobwebs from my Pioneer PL71.:scratch:

Kember
12-04-2016, 22:04
I have no experience of this upgrade (my 401 is Bastin through and through) and also have no wish to pee on your bonfire but wasn't there a bit of a hoohah a few years ago on pfm about Kokomos and what they did to the 401's spindle?

P

Floyddroid
12-04-2016, 22:17
There was indeed Peter. They have now sorted it and the bearing is it's Mk 3 guise.
I have no experience of this upgrade (my 401 is Bastin through and through) and also have no wish to pee on your bonfire but wasn't there a bit of a hoohah a few years ago on pfm about Kokomos and what they did to the 401's spindle?

P

Woodsong Audio
13-04-2016, 00:08
Please describe 'speed instability'. Are you speaking of variance during running while warm? Or the variance between the speed at cold startup, and running temps after 10 minutes or so? The Kokomo wont make a lick of difference to the variance in speed between cold startup, and when it reaches operating speed.