PDA

View Full Version : New fangled TVs.

alb
06-11-2009, 22:42
I'm under pressure to buy a new telly for the living room. We don't have one in there now because it was in the way of the speakers, so i moved it out. It wasn't used much anyway.
To save space i'm going to have to relent and buy one of these 32" LCD things, and wall mount it. Don't know anything about them, and need some advice please.
Judging by the number of broken ones for sale, i'm guessing they're not as reliable as the old CRT type.
If i had more room i'd buy a secondhand CRT again, but thats impractical.

Is there anything i should look out for, or avoid?
Do they need protection from mains spikes etc?
Is secondhand too risky?
Am i being unnecessarily paranoid?
I don't want to be spending more than £400 on something that isn't really a priority in this house.

Ali Tait
06-11-2009, 22:58
I'm no expert,but for that size of lcd,I think the Sony Bravia has a very good picture.You're probably best waiting till the January sales if you can,should get it for a good price.

alb
06-11-2009, 23:05
Thanks Ali.

Need this before Christmas, but no problem because the January sales will be starting soon anyway.:)
Probably won't be able to afford the Sony range.
I'm going to see what Costco has to offer this weekend.

Ali Tait
06-11-2009, 23:13
Sorry no idea what they cost.My mum has one and it's very good.Secondhand maybe?

mercury1 (trolling as Dave K)
06-11-2009, 23:20
I'm no expert,but for that size of lcd,I think the Sony Bravia has a very good picture.You're probably best waiting till the January sales if you can,should get it for a good price.

Hi Al,
FWIW I thoroughly agree with Ali. I have a 40" Bravia LCD and the picture (and sound) is brilliant (and superb on Hi-Def, IMHO). I confess to being a fan of all things Sony, and they tend to be a bit more expensive than their competitors, but well worth the extra, IMHO/E.