PDA

View Full Version : FYI: STAX DA 100, CA-X, SRA 12s, servicing, attitude towards end-users, and more

Neil McCauley
11-12-2015, 12:20
Q: Hi Howard. I have à pair of Stax da 100 with ca-x after having the da80 vwith sra12s I had some problems with the ça-x but none up to now with the da100 and i had them for almost 30 years I like them how ever vu the age and the difficulty to repair if something happens, i was thinking to change for audio research ref75 and ref5se. Cd is wadia and speakers sonus faber guarneri. I was wondeing if you expériences some problèmes with the da100? and if they série d'asile réparable i havé the diagrams. Thanks for answerring

A: I had a CA-X which was utterly reliable and I should not have sold it. I have no direct personal experience of their power amps. I still own and use the 12s. The 12s caught fire and had to be returned to Japan for servicing some years back. I founded simply-STAX which for some years was the global #1 STAX retailer, but only for their earspeakers and headphones. I closed that business down because the unreliability of their state-of-the-art Omega 007 earspeakers was unacceptable and generally these units had to be returned to Japan which greatly annoyed some owners.

As far as I am aware, STAX JP does not provide service manuals to anyone under any circumstances, although there may be exceptions that I'm unaware of. I doubt it though.