PDA

View Full Version : Valve amps: single-ended v push-pull

Joe
10-10-2009, 19:17
OK, so I know there's the above two types of valve power amps. What's distinctive about each in terms of sound, or does that have more to do with the competence of the designer than the configuration of the valves?

PS It's not just idle curiousity, I do have a reason for asking, but would prefer general comments and this am not mentioning specific models.

PPS Bear in mind I'm an arts graduate, so keep any explanations at the simplistic level.

Cheers

Ali Tait
10-10-2009, 19:35
What kind of sound are you looking for? In VERY general terms,the generally accepted characteristics are this-

SE-A good SE amp will beguile you with a magical mid and top,with great soundstaging,at a little expense of a deep and muscular bass.

PP-A good one will give a deeper and stronger perceived bass,but at the expense of a little of the great mid and top of an SE amp.

This question is a real can of worms,and what I have said can only be taken in very general terms.It would be best to hear both types for yourself before making your mind up.Just my 2d worth.

Marco
10-10-2009, 19:59
Hi Joe,

It's a difficult question to answer properly in a few sentences. I'd agree though with Ali's brief summary :)

What kind of sound are you after - are you in the market for a valve amp or is it just curiosity?

What's distinctive about each in terms of sound, or does that have more to do with the competence of the designer than the configuration of the valves?

That's 100% correct. The key word is *always* implementation!

Marco.

Cotlake
10-10-2009, 20:19
Hi Joe,