PDA

View Full Version : What't the problem with Linn & Naim..?

Alex_UK
03-09-2009, 07:31
Copied from a thread last night, that it would be unfair to hijack - sorry Hamish...

OK, I was going to raise this on another thread, but thought better of it at the time, but it's late and I've poured the 3rd glass... Can someone give a relative newbie a potted history of what the "problem" is with Linn & Naim kit? I'd always thought they were well regarded, but that is probably just a product of the corporate marketing machine - I have no experience of either - but I have definitely picked up on the "negative" vibes on here, whether intended or not... (lights blue touchpaper, and retires... )

I look forward to some interesting opinions (we do allow opinions on here, don't we - unlike some other forums :smoking:!)

REM
03-09-2009, 08:28
:popcorn:

hifi_dave
03-09-2009, 09:33
Similar questions to this invariably stir up a lot of love V hate and aggression on the forums. Hopefully, not on this relatively peaceful place.

I haven't got a great deal of experience of Linn since they started to major on home cinema and multi-room products. It's not my thing and what I have heard lately really doesn't interest me. Others will disagree.

Naim products sound good to me (others might have different opinions) and are well thought out, well made, reliable, and have the best back-up service. They aren't continually changing the models and their products have good resale value if you want to move on or up. Few other ranges offer these advantages in my experience.

Spur07
03-09-2009, 10:02
Alex,

I don't know much about Linn, but all I've ever owned is Naim gear since the early 90's.