PDA

View Full Version : High fidelity????????????????

ballymenaman
16-03-2014, 01:59
I'm new to the whole audiophile thing. Obviously individuals' ears are different and sound is a subjective thing - but I read so much about sonic signatures. Arcam, for instance, is supposed to have a particular sound. Same for Naim. Can anybody tell me what these are? Does Arcam/Naim equipment reproduce music faithfully - to me this would mean it sounding like it did in the studio or wherever it was recorded - or does it lend something different to the sound and change it?

I would love to hear these different 'signatures' for myself but unfortunately I live in a place where I have no access to a good HIfi dealer where I could hear the different brands in action. The standard cheapo Japanese/Korean budget gear is the only stuff stocked locally. I am looking for a new amp and find myself relying on advice from forums such as this and from Hifi reviews (which I often suspect might be a bit biased?!).

Here's the million dollar question - what brand produces music the most faithfully and with the least distortion at a sensible cost?

jandl100
16-03-2014, 08:09
Well, all brands have their fans and their detractors.

As a general rule, nothing is perfect, you just have to choose the ones that suit your own priorities and preferences.
--- or become a box-swapper like me (and others here) who just enjoy trying different things.
--- buy something on the used market - use it for a while and then change it for something else. Great fun! :)

I guess it's a bit more expensive (courier fees) to do that from NI, but only a few tens of Euros extra really.

AlfaGTV
16-03-2014, 08:47
Here's the million dollar question - what brand produces music the most faithfully and with the least distortion at a sensible cost?

Here's a million dollar answer for you ;)
Depends.... on what you like, what you listen to, how your listening room affects audio, your budget, how you define "faithfully" etc etc etc