PDA

View Full Version : Croft Integrated

trane
22-06-2009, 20:49
hi, there, all,
i am a newbie here though have read certain threads as a visitor earlier, and now have decided to join this community :)
i am from hungary, where availability of the well-known british hi-fi stuff is realitvely easy due to the now-existing dealer network for i believe all the 'major' brands.
however, judging from the accessible reviews on Croft makes, and backed by some (mainly Ken Kessler) articles, it seems this marque is not as yet at its well-deserved place in its, and your, country regarding it (not) being in the 'mainstream' of hi-fi.
that said, i do not attempt to compare Croft products to e.g. marantz models in any way, only that i'd love to see more Croft items in the mags and the shops.
of course, i am aware of the fact that Croft is quite a unique mark in terms of production, too, thus, there is an evident reason why it's not kinda mass-produced...
now, i hope all above have made sense and has not distracted anyone from reading further - i'll stop the intro, and switch for the main points.
which is, that in spite i have never heard a Croft amplifier, but had read some amazing reviews on them, i decided to go for one, preferably an integrated.
as a valve-fanatic, i had used almost exclusively all-valve design integrated amps before from Audio Innovations (S300, 400, 500) and Audio Note (Oto Phono), and some hungarian-made models under the Pointe trade name (Sima, Medium, Classic), and heard quite a numerous.
whatever pure and truly musical the voicing of those amps had been, i got tired of exchanging the tube compartment in every 2nd year and, thus, decided to go for a tranny amp that sounds as a valve-based one.