PDA

View Full Version : Possible switch of solid state to valve - advice and views appreciated.

twelvebears
04-06-2009, 09:38
Dear All.

This thought has crossed my mind before, but my impending move to a new home which is a) likely to be a very long term prospect and b) is not likely to allow for high listening levels (it's a Victorian semi), has got me thinking about whether I should consider trading some of the grunt of my MF M3 for something a little something smaller, prettier and possibly more musical?

Much like symon, I have no first hand experience of valve kit, but many of you seem to be fans and they do look wonderful.

I guess my question is this; without necessarily having to resort to eBray, is there anywhere I could possibly trade-in my M3 against something which glows, IF I should find something which fits the bill?

S.

hifi_dave
04-06-2009, 10:18
IMO, you will get more for your old kit on E-Bay than in a p/x. A dealer has to make a profit, not only to make a living but to cover expenses, c/card fees and also to cover the VAT.

Best bet is to sell the MF and then visit your dealer with cash in pocket.

DSJR
04-06-2009, 18:53
Used gear is almost worthless to a dealer in dire straits, so Dave's suggestion of selling privately is probably best.

As to valve vs solid state, valves are a personal and emotional-attachment issue for most owners today. because of the difficulties of using the SUT's with the Croft valve pre, I put the SS AVI preamp back. This latter may well have the edge, but the Croft gets me "involved" with it (both are musically involving, but there's this tactile pleasure with the valve pre).

Good luck. try to find a like-minded dealer-soul. They do exist (HiFi dave is one and I think Dave Cawley is another)..

Spectral Morn
04-06-2009, 19:15
Dear All.