PDA

View Full Version : On-Topic Photographs - How?? (...please)

The Grand Wazoo
01-06-2009, 19:44
Come on then all you photographic geniuses.

I need to know how to take perfect piccies of hi-fi gear.........so some tips would be useful.

Pretty please.

Beechwoods
01-06-2009, 20:52
Tripod, lighting, and decent exposure.

Oh, and make sure you're cleaned your kit first!

(I'm no expert, but these 4 rules are good for a start!).

The Vinyl Adventure
02-06-2009, 09:48
depends on the camera you intend to use

few tips though:
shot with a normal lens - (45-50mm focal length on a 35mm slr or 30 - 35 on a dslr). or as close to this as possible (not always practical but woth the effort if it can be done) (read this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normal_lens )
this will give the observer the corect idea of depth and perspective
if you have a point and shoot digital compare the screen to what you see and try to make them match!

if you dont have much light a tripod is handy for perfection but not esential.

with tripod:

set camera on tripod
point in right direction
make sure flash of camera is turned off
set iso as low as possible
(if you have an slr with apeture priority mode set to between 5.6 and 8 this is likely where you lens works its best and will mean your hifi is all in focus front to back)
set camera to self timer (this ensures the camera is steady when it fires)
press the button.

depending on the light the shutter will have stayed open longer than you could have held the camera still so let it click twice before you return to the camera

beware of doing this in partiuly low light as any small sources of light will burn highlights

also depending on camera and colour of your hifi it may be worth experimenting with +/- a stop of exposure comp

without tripod

shoot in the part of the day that most light comes into the room. if direct sunlight hits your hifi hanging a very thin sheet/net curtain infront of the window will difuse the light nicely