PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about valve equipment

symon
12-05-2009, 22:55
As I delve deeper into the world of hi-fi, and the world of hi-fi as found here on this forum, my interest in valve amps is growing. But, I have a small problem. I have never seen a real live valve amp of any description, let alone heard one. So, I have absolutely no knowledge of these beasties. And these particular type of beasties are not particularly cheap. So, should I ever be lucky enough to dip my toes in the water and get a valve amp thingy, it would be useful to know what to look for and what I'm letting myself in for. It's also worth saying here that I'm not very good at DIY with little or no experience (put it this way, soldering is an unknown art to me!)

So, what do I need to know about valve technology? What should I look for when maybe thinking about buying something? What do all the technical terms mean? Are these beasties special things that need lots of special attention? I have no knowledge and would really like to know more.

I have seen two valve amps for sale here - perhaps they could be used as examples to explain and discuss this stuff.

And, maybe this could become part of Beechy's library.

So, good folk of AOS, please enlighten me. :smoking:

Ta :)

DSJR
13-05-2009, 07:00
They GLOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

Valve amps are a bit like steam driven engines. They're totally outdated in so many ways, yet fill their owner's hearts with so much joy (if they're properly designed).

There's also something about the ways they have with a musical signal too, whether digitally or analogue sourced. Of course an amp shouldn't distort the signal it processes, but all do to a greater or lesser extent and the trick is to make any distortion as benegn as possible. Well designed valve gear does this beautifully, adding if at all, a touch of "charm" to the music rather than an "edge," so beloved of Naim owners, for example.