PDA

View Full Version : Denon 160 setup?

Simon
06-05-2009, 09:07
Hello there the world at large,

Recently acquired a Manticore Mantra in splendid shape for a Christian price.

I'd like to replace the supplied K9 with a Denon 160 - it'll take me a while to rebuild a decent vinyl library so nothing more exotic is billed for the near future and I've heard the Denons reduce surface noise quite a bit on 'mature' vinyl.

It'll run into a Project Tubebox II for the time being but there's the rub - will a high output mc cart.- of which I have no experience - work better on the mc or mm setting? Mm would appear to be the obvious choice....

(Apologies if this is a repeat question)

Anyone have any tips on the setting up of these Denon high output mc's, VTF, antiskate etc? I'd be very grateful for any info!

chris@panteg
06-05-2009, 11:20
The DL160 has a healthy output so should work fine.

Simon
06-05-2009, 12:14
The DL160 has a healthy output so should work fine.

Thanks Chris. I'm hoping it'll be a breeze to set up so I can get on with enjoying.

(On a separate note, I see you have a pair of Snell J's - I'd like to mail you in private if I may.)

DSJR
06-05-2009, 13:05
Many people prefer the DL110 and 160 (naff all quality difference between them, despite the 160's fancy cantilever and slightly higher compliance) used into the mc input regardless. Whether they like the overload compression/distortion this *may* introduce is another matter. Just be aware of what *may* be going on and try it for yourself, as different phono stages have differing characteristics where headroom and overload is concerned. You WON'T do any harm in trying anyway...

The standard tracking force to start with is aound 1.7 to 1.8 grammes, which I think is optimum for this cartridge. Set the bias to "1" as most early RB arms have too much bias correction.

If the Mantra has a Linn or their own arm, then use the settings provided..

snapper
06-05-2009, 13:31
Hi Simon