PDA

View Full Version : Dave's Starter Kit.

DaveK
21-04-2009, 19:37
Hi All,
This is my first attempt to post pics of my set up. If it doesn't display properly please be gentle with me.:doh:
It obviously does not bear comparison with some of the kit that most of you guys seem to have but it's the best my budget can run to.
http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv4/DaveAndSue/DSCF1318.jpg, http://i664.photobucket.com/albums/vv4/DaveAndSue/DSCF1319.jpg.
I have attempted to put them so that they display the left side to the left and the right side to the right, so as to make a disjointed panorama - sorry about the TV picture but the Budget Controller is a keen fan of Countdown !!
The heart of my system is a Marantz PM6010OSE KI amp in the centre of the shelf under the TV. To it's right is a Marantz CD-63 mk II KI player and above which is a Sky HD box.
To the left of the amp, on the bottom is a Sony BD350 Blu-Ray player, above which is a Sony MM PC, a Vaio VGX-XL201. Despite the close proximity of everything I have never had any suggestion of anything overheating (so far !!). Note the precision centre support under the bottom centre of the wooden unit - the weight began to take it's toll so a 'prop' was installed.
The speakers are MS Mezzo 2s in oak. At the moment the speaker cable is a bi-wire set up cobbled together by me from an internet posting (saying they were as good as any much more expensive cable) from solid core Cat 6 ethernet cable (budget again !!). I have recently bought off eBay some QED Silver Anniversary cable and plan to swap them soon - opinions on whether I will notice any improvement would be welcome and I will let you know after swapping.