PDA

View Full Version : Addressing the issue of microphony

Steve Toy
07-02-2009, 04:30
I'd like to find out the general opinion of forum members on this. Do you believe there is anything to be gained from addressing microphony issues, i.e. attempting to reduce vibrations entering your kit?

I'm looking for some truly candid responses here both in the poll and any further commentary.

Beechwoods
07-02-2009, 07:19
I have no experience of this but I'm open-minded and willing to experiment.

I feel that my system has a long way to go before the affects of microphony, supports and cables are likely to have an audible affect. But once sources, amplification and speakers are sorted to a certain level microphony, supports and cables are going to have a more perceptible affect on the end result... and that's when tweaking and experimenting with them is likely to pay dividends.

I'd be interested in whether advocates of supports and cable dressings feel that the affects of good practice in this area will have an affect regardless of the resolution of the other system building blocks...

John
07-02-2009, 07:23
ahh depends!!!
For instance on my power amp it tightens up the bass I use the feet of silence underneath Recently when Vic came around he asked me if those really work I said lets see, I then put on a track listened to it then removed it and listened again the music had lost some of its impact, this became more imparent when we put the feet back underneath the bass became tighter
When I had EAR 864 preamp using the biggest Cardas blocks to isolate had a big impact on sounstage I then tried this trick on everything else thinking it would make a difference but apart from my power amp I found Isolation made no difference