PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade advice

Black Knight
01-01-2009, 12:18
I'm quite new to Hi-Fi and talk of anything more technical than this lead goes there leaves me confused.

I 'like' the sound I have but can't help feeling its at the bottom end of the
Hi-Fi ladder. I want to improve things but not sure where to go.

Budget is an issue, i'm on a tight one. I like to get the best value I can when making any purchase.

This is my current gear

Cambridge Audio 640C v2
Marantz PM 6002 Amp
Gotham GAC-1 interconnect (50cm)
Sound Organisation 3 tier rack
QED Silver anniversary XT speaker cables (2x2m)
QED Airloc plugs
Wharfdale Diamond 9.1 speakers
Altacama stands
Tacima 929 Mains conditioner
Grado SR80 headphones

I spend more time than ever listening with the headphones. I've neighbours and other tennants to consider. Additionally the system is in a poor location which prob doesn't help things when using the speakers.

Is there any obvious upgrade path?

Thanks

Rick.

John
01-01-2009, 12:46
Hi Rick
If you not able to listen to your system to much then is there a need to upgrade?
If the answer is there is no need, then think about the following:
A decent Heaphone amp
At some point a even better set of headphones but the SR80 are quite nice

Black Knight
01-01-2009, 15:30
Hi John,

Thanks for the advice. Fair point, I'll forget about speakers for now as they are used far less than the headphones.

Re the headphone amp - I asked about these at a dealer and was told you only need one if you don't have a port on your main amp.

How does having a headphone amp enhance things? Doesn't putting an additional box in have the potential to complicate things?

Good point re the headphones, I bought mine new but at the time I noticed used prices weren't much less. Grado and Sennheisser were highly reccomended to me and I liked them both. The former had better sound, the latter were more comfortable.
any other suggestions?

fraser.
01-01-2009, 16:11