PDA

View Full Version : Croft questions/advice

Robert James
14-02-2012, 21:42
I'm hoping some of the helpful people here at The Art of Sound might be willing to offer me some assistance and share some insights from any relevant personal experience.

I'm interested in the Croft Micro 25/Series 7 valve amplifier combination.

I've never used valves in my system before but I'm intrigued by everything I've read about Croft and I find myself attracted to the reviews of its sound, design philosophy, build quality, price, etc. I don't want to buy anything made in China and I'd prefer something built in the U.K. rather than over here.

Unfortunately, there is no Croft dealer where I live so it's impossible to audition the amps in my system (or to even hear them somewhere else). I suppose I could always wait to listen to them by visiting a dealer in the U.K. next time I'm over.

There are options to obtain Croft in North America but I would be buying online (new or used) and I'd be flying blind, so to speak. I could always simply re-sell them but, at the very least, I would appreciate any thoughts/opinions people on the forum might have to share with me.

I am currently running a Naim Nait 5i-2 with Kudos X2 speakers. My listening is almost entirely analogue-based (I run both a Rega P7 and a Thorens TD 125 MKII).

Due to room issues, I have a nearfield setup with my listening position about 8 feet or 2.5 meters from the speakers.

In this setup the Nait 5i performs very well, at least to my liking.

What I'm wondering is whether the Croft will be able to drive these speakers at least to a point where I can appreciate the benefits of what the Crofts have to offer, sound wise.

Or, should I have to expect to make a speaker change as well?

Has anyone here used the Micro 25/Series with Kudos X2s or any other speakers in the same range of size or efficiency (Harbeth, Spendor, Neat, etc.)?

Many thanks for your time and consideration.

hifi_dave
14-02-2012, 21:58