PDA

View Full Version : Rogers JR 149 speakers - are they worth it?

Neil McCauley
15-12-2008, 13:12
Glancing at eBay this morning shows 3 pairs for sale, all at over £300.Moreover one pair sold on December 5 for £280 and another pair sold for £399.99 on December 4. Interestingly in recent months, every working pair for sale on eBay UK has been sold.

I’ve had no direct personal experience of these. In a nutshell, are they a cult classic that deserve the asking price, or is it hype about nothing special? I remain open minded.

Regards

HP

Togil
15-12-2008, 18:20
They were the winners in a blind test carried out in the seventies by Martin Colloms for HiFi for Pleasure where different speakers were compared with live instruments behind a curtain

jandl100
16-12-2008, 08:12
I've owned the JR149 when the were selling for low £200s. A fine small speaker - I prefer its overall musical presentation to LS3/5a on which the design was based. Better dynamics and bass, if lacking a soupcon of the midrange magic.

Better by far, though (imo) are the JR150s. Sort of grown up 149s with an extra bass unit and extra cabinet volume - and a better braced cabinet, too, I think. A bigger sound all round. These are a pretty serious not-that-far-off full range speaker. If looking for a sensibly priced small monitor I'd give the JR150s serious consideration. A bit rare , though.

http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii114/jandl100/JR1502.jpg

Here you can see a little 149 peeking out from behind my JR150 ! :) ......

http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii114/jandl100/JR150light.jpg

Yes, they sound better with the grilles off, sadly - they look a bit 'industrial' though!

An easy load - they worked wonderfully with my Chinese OTL monoblocks.

Neil McCauley
16-12-2008, 09:28