PDA

View Full Version : Arcam Alpha 5

aquapiranha
01-12-2008, 21:26
Hi guys. I have been very lucky and was given an Alpha 5 CD player. I would like to do a couple of mods on it and compare the original and after modification. However, I am no expert and would like to do simple, inexpensive mods if this is possible.

I will be greatful for any suggestions!

Many thanks!

Filterlab
01-12-2008, 22:03
I'm no DIY expert, but if I was modding an Arcam Alpha 5 (great machine btw) I'd go straight to Trichord's site and get a new clock and psu for it. You could try a separate offboard DAC as well, or try to find a Black Box - immediate improvement.

Ahhhh the Alpha 5, my first proper CD player. :)

aquapiranha
01-12-2008, 22:06
Thanks Rob. I will take a look. I already have a nice Meridian, I just wanted this as a spare and also to get busy with the soldering iron! I just hope I don't end up upsetting the meridian with a new improved Alpha 5 !

alb
01-12-2008, 22:20
There should be plenty of threads and articles about the Alpha 5.

Here's one.
The non-oversampling mod must be one of the most worthwhile.
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread/t-54617.html

Here's another. More of an alternative output stage than a tweak.

http://www.lampizator.eu/index.html

Marco
01-12-2008, 23:59
Hi Steve,

Les W from Avondale Audio (he's a member here but more active over on pfm) should be your first port of call for advice. The Alpha 5 is (and has been been for years) a prime candidate for his modifications. I should imagine that what he doesn't know about modifying the AA5 isn't worth knowing. He's also a very nice and helpful chap :)

Marco.

leo
02-12-2008, 00:57
NOS mod
recap it, PSU's and regulation lines
Change output filter op-amps (NE5534 ) to same as the I/V op-amps (op27)
Remove muting transistors
Change Bi-polar output coupling caps to 1-10uf films
Change standard diodes to something like schottky 11DQ10