PDA

View Full Version : Afternoon all

jsj24uk
27-11-2008, 14:23
Hi everyone.

Just thought I would pop my head in and say hello.
I'm very new to all of this and still havn't quite got a clue what I'm doing but I hope that you can all be of help from time to time.

The hi-fi bug started a few weeks ago with a win on Ebay for a Philips CD204 cd player. I always wanted one of these since I was about 8 years old. Then when one came up I pounced on it.

This is when it all started getting expensive. The following weekend I was down at an electrical shop in Hatfield where I bought an Arcam A65 Plus amp and a pair of Mission 79 Series 2 speakers. Also learnt about bi-wiring with speakers. I will stick a couple of pics up in the pics section.

Be good everyone,
Jim.

Filterlab
27-11-2008, 14:37
Hi Jim!

Ahhhh, a new hi-fi fan. Let me tell you now Jim, you are at the very start of a long and pleasurable road that will throw you somewhere between nirvana and bankruptcy (let's hope it's the former of course). As with a car, the tyres are as important as the engine so have a good tweak with your cables and stands.

Ask any questions at all and we'll do our best to help, keep an eye on all the sections as we're a right old generous bunch of lads (particularly Shian7) and stuff gets given away on occasion. :) That'll at the very least help to reduce the spending, either that or it'll get you thinking "Mmmm, I might just change my source, mmmm I'll change my cables now, mmmm I could do with a new amp...." etc etc.

Anyway, whatever - get stuck in and enjoy!

:)

John
27-11-2008, 15:11
Hi Jim
Welcome to the mad world of Hifi. Rob is correct in what he says so be careful it can become quite addictive.
Lots of people here like sharing there knowledge and advice.