PDA

View Full Version : Disused Airfields

Haselsh1
10-10-2011, 10:13
http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab240/Haselsh1/RAFWombletonNo1.jpg

http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab240/Haselsh1/RAFWombletonNo2.jpg

I've put up two photographs of an old disused RAF base fairly close to were I live as being a photographer, I have a passion for the vast disused spaces. The first image shows a huge thunderstorm racing across the North Yorkshire Moors in the distance whereas the second image shows the intersection of the main runways and some rather attractive summer clouds. Needless to say, the images were shot last summer, not this summer.

synsei
10-10-2011, 15:46
I can almost hear the Skylarks singing away in the bottom pic Shaun and the first is full of menace. Excellent shots sir!!! :clap:

Gromit
10-10-2011, 16:44
I can almost hear the Skylarks singing away in the bottom pic Shaun and the first is full of menace. Excellent shots sir!!! :clap:

Agreed. :)

Where we live in mid Lincs there are almost countless old WW2 RAF bases, in fact there's a chap who does day-long cycle tours (you cover about 35 miles apparently) around them. I really must get on one some time as a couple of mates at Cranwell have done the day and found it fascinating.

Jason P
10-10-2011, 22:19
Nice shots. I particularly like the tonal symmetry in the first one.

The Grand Wazoo
10-10-2011, 23:29
I used to manage some woodland that was planted around an airfield in South Yorks. It had been a relief runway for Bomber Command's RAF Finningley (now Doncaster airport). There was quite a bit of it remaining if you knew where to look.