PDA

View Full Version : Quad Remote Control



Labarum
08-11-2008, 09:27
I have a Quad 77 amp with remote control, but was interested to see this eBay entry

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Quad-77-Integrated-Amplifier-80W-per-channel-ex-cond_W0QQitemZ200272318169QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 200272318169&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A10|39%3A1|240%3A1318

It references the Quad System "Commander" which may also be used to control the amp.

What is this "Commander"

Filterlab
08-11-2008, 10:59
I believe this is the System Commander, simply a remote control that controls all of the Quad range (at the time). Nice looking bit of gear, there was a fashion at the time for these trendy looking tabletop remotes:

http://s560.photobucket.com/albums/ss49/aos_images/random_stuff/quadsystemcommander.jpg

aquapiranha
08-11-2008, 10:59
I might be mistaken here but I thought the commander was a table-top type remote much like the meridian msr?Haha oops Filterlab beat me there...

Filterlab
08-11-2008, 11:00
BING! Simultaneous post. :)

DSJR
08-11-2008, 11:17
When Quad did the 77 series, they developed a "two way" remote control, the intention being that all the important info would be on the remote, such as tone control, phono stage setup etc for the 77 preamp. B&O thought this humourous as they'd just abandoned the idea in their not too good "7000" series remote.

The 77 commander was a bit of a disaster in the early days, causing many software updates and, I think, conributing to Quad being sold off (citation needed here).

Not sure how this remote applies to the 77 integrated, unless it's used with the tuner and CD player that went with it.

Labarum
08-11-2008, 12:15
Rob's picture is the remote for Quad series 6.

I have series 7, yes, a remote that both sends and receives data.

http://i14.ebayimg.com/04/i/001/15/da/3ee8_12.JPG

Quad told me the series 9 remote will not work with series 7, not even as a send only remote.

The codes to program a generic remote are available somewhere on the web, but I don't know how well it would work.

But what the "Commander" referenced on eBay might be I know not. The poster may just be wrong.

I don't understand why the 77 Integrated Amp goes for so little. It has two auxiliary inputs and a tape in/out, so for most purposes would suit very nicely. Should anyone want to change the input sensitivities they would, of course, nee at least to borrow the remote.

gooner
29-07-2009, 15:33
Yesterday i purchased a Quad 77 pre and power amp combo with the remote,the remote is faulty,the guy who i bought the system from also had a Quad 66 set up and confirmed that the remote for it won't work the 77 Series pre,bummer ! I phoned Quad and they said the probable fault,from their experience,was the rechargable batteries and would it would cost about 50.00 to fix.I hope this helps.

RobHolt
01-08-2009, 13:11
This is the remote for my Quad 34 - no battery required :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v637/zippy670/broom.jpg

Labarum
01-08-2009, 14:46
This is the remote for my Quad 34 - no battery required :)


I can see how that might work on the tilt control of the 44, but not how it would operate any rotary pot.

DSJR
01-08-2009, 15:56
The re-chargeable batteries were a pain. AVI used them on their original aluminium remote and one way of sorting them was to put a reasonable voltage across the terminals of each battery. I can't remember how much voltage though or in which polarity. ten years is a good life for them though I think.

The 77 commander was excellent once sorted, but not strictly necessary I believe, as the preamp could have the secondary functions accessed via a front panel key sequence.