PDA

View Full Version : Old Radford or ??

busterc
06-09-2011, 18:27
Hi everyone. I'd like to get some advice as I have a few options of which direction to go in for a new hi-fi. I wouldn't call myself a hi-fi enthusiast but I'm a professional musician and would like to get the best listening experience possible for my money/choices. I listen to Rock/Pop/Folk music. No classical or jazz really. My Denon system which I've had for 15 years is in need of replacement.

I own a Radford STA 15 amplifier along with a Radford Preamp. It belonged to my grandfather and had been kept in the loft for many years before I got my hands on it. I took it to someone to have it serviced/restored and it's now fully working. The guy who repaired it as well as the shop which organised the repair raved about how it sounded when they gave it back to me. I've only just got it back myself and haven't listened to it yet. From some investigation I reckon it's worth in the region of £1500 assuming I could find a buyer.

I could keep the radford and buy a CD player to pair with it - I guess spending in the region of £500. However - I wonder whether I might be better off selling the Radford giving me in the region of £2000 to spend on a new system. As I said, I'm not a huge enthusiast or collector, I just want the best possible listening experince. Having said that I do have an appreciation of things like the Radford and have a lot of vintage equipment in my recording studio.

Interested to hear some opions on which option people think might be best. Thanks!

topoxforddoc
06-09-2011, 18:45
Never sell the Radford STA15, unless you become truly minted. It's probably the best push pull valve amplifier ever made. The SC22 is, to be honest, sonically compromised like many 60s valve pre-amps.
If you have a £500 budget, buy an old CD player, like a Meridian 206B for £200 and a Croft Micro preamp for £300. Then just enjoy!
When you have more funds, buy a pair of sorted Quad ESL57s - a match in heaven.