PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a new hi fi system within budget

tfm
21-08-2011, 21:29
Hello,

I have made a very important decision in a man's life: I will upgrade from a "standard" 5.1 home theather to a brand new hi fi audio system. :)

I hope you, experienced people, could help me with that urge....

My budget goes up to USD 1.500, max 2.000 if those extra 500 are worthed. Also have untill Jan'12 for that call.

I am a classical guitarist and love classical music and live orchestras.

My only source of music is the desktop PC, from flac to MP3, going through recordings of orchestras and live concerts. I'll also see movies and sound will come from this same audio system - although no doubt classical music is the main topic. Because data will come from PC, there is no need at all for cd players or any kind of reader/player.

Currently, audio comes from analog motherboard - P5K Deluxe output. That is a ADI® AD1988B 8 -Channel High Definition Audio CODEC. Mobo also has a S/PDIF out port.

That said, I have a first doubt: is it really worthed to invest in a dedicated sound card for a hi fi stereo or 2.1 ? If yes, which would you recommend?

For the standard 10 yrs old satellites I use now, it seems fine. I don't know how it would sound in a decent amp and speakers, and I guess I won't have to chance to test it with and without a sound card, so I guess I will take your advices on that...

(from steve toy's What is the art of sound? :eyebrows:) I am looking for components to be selected on their ability to make more sense of different melodies, and give the greatest possible insight into the musical performance.

It is also a core for me that the set is capable of recreating life-like dynamics, because there are many insights which just happen in a live concert hall, during performance. So I would like to have the closest to that within that budget...