PDA

View Full Version : Two Yamaha amps. Can I do it. Will it work

isuckedmandelsonslemons
05-08-2011, 08:17
OK, I'm relatively new to this so excuse my ignorance.

I have a Yamaha AS2000 amp and matching CD player. These are driving a pair of sublime Usher Compass 6381 speakers.

I'm very, very happy with the sound but . . . . I'm sure it can get better.

Looking at two options. Feel free to point out my foolhardiness or makke alternative suggestions.

OPTION 1. Move the Yamaha amp to my upstairs system to partner the Yamaha CDS1000 player. I would then look at buying the XTZ D3 intergrated amp and the XTZ AP100 power amp. I'd drive bass with power amp and high end with the integrated.

I know that this would work and I've spoken to Shaun at Audiosanctum who couldn't have been more helpful. I can demo this option.

OPTION 2. This would be my wife's preferred option as everything would match but I don't know if it's a) possible and b) sensible. Buy a second Yamaha amp (either the AS2000 or the AS1000) The AS2000 has a pre out and main in. How would I wire it to drive speakers and would iit be worth it.

Just read through my post and I sound like a right numpty with more money than sense. pretty much what the wife says.

Anyway, fire away guys. . . .

Harry

Ali Tait
05-08-2011, 09:08
Yes, no reason why not. Am not familiar with these amps, are they integrateds or power amps? Do they have vol controls?

isuckedmandelsonslemons
05-08-2011, 11:31
Yes, no reason why not. Am not familiar with these amps, are they integrateds or power amps? Do they have vol controls?

Hi Ali. Presumably that's a yes to using two Yamahas?

The Yamaha AS2000 is integrated and has volume control.

Ali Tait
05-08-2011, 11:59