PDA

View Full Version : Active v passive

stewartwen
23-07-2011, 22:09
Hvae you heard, or owned, an active loudspeaker system.
What were the advantages or disadvantages of each?
S

audionewbi
24-07-2011, 02:48
The major advantage of active speakers is the inclusion of an amplifier so you do not need to buy one.
I believe active speakers are the best thing to go for for desktop computer based music or office. They are not really designed for the 'whole body' experience kind of feeling.

The active once again come under many division, the studio monitoring which aim to be flat and as the name goes they are used to for mixing music not really used for musicality. I say that as you most likely buy it and dont like the sound and wonder why they cost so much. They cost so much due to the features they have, the features that me and you most likely wouldnt use. A good example of affordable 2.0 active speakers are the swans mkIII 2000 or the audioengine A5.
I am very new to this sorry I cannot comment more on this.

Passive speakers (the one which is +500 dollar margine) can go a lot lower and give a better bass respond. Since we no longer paying for all the other extra features than I think it is safe to assume that the price we pay is for quality parts.

If I ever get the skills I would love to make my own speakers. Focal makes some great speakers for DIY projects.

John
24-07-2011, 05:35
There are some great active designs that do really good bass
I think their issues to both approaches and both can give you great sounds when done well

DSJR
24-07-2011, 09:34
PLEASE don't let this thread turn into yet another all-out war :)

There are good and bad in both ways of doing it and for this alone, I can see why Richard Dunn has tried hard to eliminate a crossover altogether (I'm not entirely ignorant Richard :sofa:).