PDA

View Full Version : Technics Platter

MCRU
14-04-2011, 20:37
Having spent the last few weeks studying the stock technics platter and being from an engineering background (I have been selling and designing plastic parts for 20 years) I have come up with a design for modifying the existing platter (and no it does not involve bolting a delrin mat onto it).

I will be taking my platter to the machine shop tomorrow to perform the necessary modifications and will report back as soon as I have the prototype finished, based on my work today I am expecting the finished article to look a million dollars and sound even better.

I have always thought there must be a way to improve the existing stock platter as it does ping rather badly when you tap it, the resonances are well known, here's hoping I don't end up with a frisbee instead!

Marco
14-04-2011, 20:46
Interesting, David. Good luck with it and keep us posted, as I know you will! :cool:

Marco.

Spectral Morn
14-04-2011, 22:29
Interesting :popcorn:

Regards D S D L

DSJR
15-04-2011, 08:43
Just buy a sorted SP10, you know it makes sense :D

Good luck in any case :)

MCRU
15-04-2011, 08:59
Just buy a sorted SP10, you know it makes sense :D

Good luck in any case :)

I have a garrard 401 (immaculate) sat waiting for an SME spacer to get the arm to the right height so will listen to that for a while until the Technics platter comes back from the machine shop, I would die for an SP10 but the people selling them are un-realistic with their expectations on price I find. Then there is the plinth, just got an e-mail back from slate audio, I asked them for a plinth for my 401 about 3 months ago, they said it was in development, now it's been launched...... £1300, f...k me, are these people serious?

DSJR
15-04-2011, 09:15